Channels are a way to organize and structure the pages
you are watching.
A channel is a collection of pages that have the same
properties. The changes will be sent to you in the same mail.
They have the same update rate. If you enable keyword matching,
the same match will be done for all the pages within the same channel.
You can say that using channels is like having many watchThatPage
profiles at the same time.
You should use channels if you:
It is easy to add and remove channels. You can also move folders and pages
between the channels. You manage your channels on the page showing the pages
you are watching - Your Pages.
There are a few things that will change when you start using channels.
Some of the settings you set in your profile, like update rate on the emails,
will not be accessible in your profile anymore. Instead, this information is
moved to a new window, Properties, as these settings can be different for
the various channels. You can access the properties for each channel by
the tabbed panel at the top of the page, clicking the Edit properties link
on Your Pages, or clicking the Edit link in the channel list in Your Profile.
You give each channel a name, which must be unique. This enables you to
organize the channels in an efficient way. It's up to you to find
a meaningful name, but examples might be: News, Computer, Fun, Hot stuff etc.
It is easy to switch between the channels by selecting the name of the channel
in the channel list both in the Your Pages window and the Properties window.
In the Profile window there is also a list over all your channels, where the
most important properties for each channel is listed. From the list you can follow links
to the pages you are watching for each channel, or the properties for the channels.
You can at any time delete channels. All pages you are watching for the channels will
be removed from your account (unless you are watching them in another channel).
When you only have one channel left, your different pages will look like you don't
use channels, meaning that the properties for updates etc are moved back
to your profile.